It Isn’t About Your Love Language; It’s About Your Partner’s

We can say all the right things but actually be doing all the wrong ones. Or we could say in the right language. Yes, love has a specific language. Five languages to be exact! Every person is born with a unique love language. The reason we need to know our own love language is that we innately tend to speak love in our own native language. Similarly to our own language in the words we speak. Unless our spouse speaks that language and in order to effectively communicate with them, we learn their language.

11 Things You Need To Know Before You Date Someone Whose Love Language Is ‘Touch’

Sex is an important aspect of a romantic relationship, but physical touch as a love language is not all about the sex. A hug, a shoulder squeeze, a handhold, even a pat on the back can be an expression of love that is just as meaningful to your partner. We explore easy ways to give and receive physical touch, no matter where you are physically or mentally with your partner.

In this post, we’ll explain the Physical Touch love language, take a look at some examples, and give you a couple of date night games or.

What’s your Love Lingo? Communication is key in every relationship. Here’s how to decipher your partner’s love language. A successful relationship lies in understanding your partner’s thoughts to build a deeper emotional connection. Everyone expresses themselves differently, and much like how you would have different personality quirks, it’s likely that you and your partner also have different ways to express your love and care.

According to Gary Chapman, author of The Five Love Languages, there are five ways couples express and experience love: through words of affirmation, quality time, gift giving, acts of service, and physical touch. To know your partner’s love language, observe him or her and pay close attention. What does he or she value the most?

Does your partner like to give and receive cuddles and hugs? If so, physical touch is an important love language to your loved one. It’s much easier to work on improving your relationship once you know your partner’s preferred love language and yours! Conflicts often arise when your love languages don’t match, so it’s important to consciously put yourself in your partner’s shoes and evaluate the situation from their point of view.

We’ve listed some common situations that couples fight over and how to approach them without ending in an argument. You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server.

Abstinence and physical touch

Those are the expressions that make us feel most loved. This is also likely to be the expression of love your partner most readily gives to you. A person who prefers to receive love through physical touch will likely pat or hug their partner around the house.

Sure, sex is a big part of the physical touch in a relationship — but what Why Guys Who Date Women Whose Love Language Is ‘Touch’ End.

But are we communicating the right way? This post may contain affiliate links. What are affiliate links? Read about them here. Have you heard of the book the 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman? Do you know what that means?? Showing your significant other you love them through grateful words. Doing things for your spouse that show you care.

Crave a stronger relationship? Learn to speak the Five Love Languages

You probably came here because you completed the 5 Love Languages Test and the result was that your partner has the primary love language is physical touch. They value physical intimacy and are often not afraid to show it. If this is the case for your partner, the points below will help you to keep your relationship strong. Doing so will make them feel more connected to you and strengthen your relationship. Simple acts like the following can do wonders:.

Gentlemen Speak: 5 Ways to Make Your Physical Touch Guy Feel Loved. This love language can be a surprisingly tricky one to express (sex.

Sarah Regan is a writer, registered yoga instructor, and Editorial Assistant at mindbodygreen. We all like to give and receive love in different ways, whether you’re more physically or verbally affectionate or you relish in quality time with your partner. In recent years, these signs of affection have become known as the five love languages. They include physical touch, words of affirmation , acts of service , gifts, and quality time.

Knowing which of the five you gravitate toward can help you navigate relationships. Here, we dig into quality time, including how to know whether it’s your love language and how to show it. Quality time is one of the five love languages, and it refers to showing love and affection by spending dedicated time together.

When Women Consider Physical Touch To Be A Less Real or Important Love Language

Subscriber Account active since. If you haven’t said or heard some version of that last line, you won’t get much out of this post. You might just want to check this out instead. The “bring me flowers without me asking” is the classic version of a communication issue that most, if not all, couples encounter:. Yep, love languages are a thing there are five of them and understanding what your primary love language is can be as helpful as the name is cheesy.

The best part of discovering your love language style?

A couple having a physical touch love language date: couples massage. This category refers to dates.

There are five love languages : physical touch, words of affirmation, gifts, quality time, and acts of service. You can read the whole love languages book if you want to know more. Intellectually, people will agree with this, but on a deeper, more personal level, people tend to think that their preferred love language is somehow more genuine or meaningful.

Most of the time, the way I see this manifest is when women think that physical touch is a less important love language than verbal affirmation, quality time, or acts of service. For whatever reason, nobody feel that gifts are their primary language, or maybe nobody admits to it. It is not necessary, but is a nice add on. That is icky and smacks of nonconsent. It should arise organically. What if the husband said:. Within the context of our feelings- and verbal-focused culture, which manifests nowhere as much as it does in couples therapy which is why guys often hate couples counseling , the partner whose love language is physical touch is set up to fail.

It is somehow thought of as more real, genuine, or good for partners to bond via talking or spending time together than for them to bond via physical closeness.

Love Languages: Finding the Key to Your Partner’s Heart

The concept of love languages was developed in when Dr. Gary Champan figured out that there are five distinct ways people express love — whether it be to a platonic friend, family member or a romantic partner. Love languages describe how you feel love and appreciated and how you convey to someone else that you love them and appreciate them.

The five love languages take on a unique significance in a long-distance relationship. Note: This post contains affiliate links that support Dating at a The five love languages are physical touch, words of affirmation, quality.

It seems like there are literally a billion relationship books out on the market. But if there’s one that I personally think every individual should own, it’s a copy of Dr. If you’re not familiar with it, the gist is this—all of us desire love. However, the way that we need love to be expressed breaks down into five main categories: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, Physical Touch, and Gifts. According to Dr. Chapman, we each have a top two for instance, mine are Words of Affirmation and Physical Touch.

It is his opinion that the more we get loved in our individual language s , the healthier our relationships will be.

How Important Is Physical Touch In A Relationship?